Week 12 of 213: If you love life, don’t waste time, for time is what life is made up of.

Cubicle Warrior’s blog, week 12 of 213. In honor of Bruce Lee‘s passing 39 years ago (27 November 1940 – 20 July 1973), today’s quotes will focus on him.

I finished my Defense Acquisitions University (DAU) class in “Technical Leadership in Systems Engineering“. This was the best DAU class I have ever taken. Most classes are rather mundane–eight hours of death by Powerpoint per day interwoven with what seems to be another eight hours per day of exercises on some silly exercises. This class was different. Mondays were reserved for death by Powerpoint, and the other days were all interaction within the groups. I actually learned something in a DAU class, for the first time in six years! As a bonus, here is everything I learned about systems engineering in one video, brought to you by The Family Guy [VIDEO].

If you love life, don’t waste time, for time is what life is made up of. I have been evaluating just how much time I waste in a day, and more importantly, how I let my family waste time in a day. I tend to think that I do a decent job of allocating time for the various tasks I need to accomplish in the day, but I need to do a better job of showing the family how to balance their time in order for me to spend more quality time with them at home.

We took our first visit to eXtreme Martial Arts (XMA) World Headquarters in North Hollywood. This looks like a fun place for the kids to work on their goals to become better martial arts trickers. If only the traffic were a little better…

My old friends in San Antonio went on a tournament road trip near New Orleans, Louisiana. I really do miss those road trips. I wonder if I spent enough time with my friends and family when I was in San Antonio. I often regret giving too much time to work.

On Friday, we went out to Redondo Beach Pier and walked along the boardwalk. That area looks like a nice place for the family to hang out, as long as we avoid expensive seafood items. Wow. Menu items on the Pier are either $16 or $61. Market price, my @$$.

One great cause of failure is lack of concentration. In several independent assessments of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, one of the lessons learned is that American failed by not concentrating on a specific goal. This specific assessment by the American Security Project [LINK] points out the top five lessons learned:

  1. America spent money on efforts that did not truly achieve specific goals related to American security interests. Some of the lessons in systems engineering and program management would have been useful to DoD war planners in this case.
  2. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. America did not understand the environment that they were going into in the Afghanistan campaign. Maybe on the highest levels did American DoD officials understand the battlefield, but at the Soldier level, that knowledge did not translate.
  3. The Afghanistan campaign went from being a hunt for UBL to a poorly run political war. Afghani politics do not align with American politics, and America kept forgetting that.
  4. America’s failure to plan was planning to fail. Then again, the Department of Defense exists to break stuff and kill people, not build up nations comprised of diverse sub-nations.
  5. Success only matters in the long term. America focuses on the now, the short-term goals that gain accolades and promotions, but not success on the battlefield. This particular lesson resonates for all of America’s conflicts since 1945–not just from this lowly cubicle warrior, but from many other independent assessments written by warriors much smarter than me.

A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at. My goal is to run 26 miles per week. With the DAU class taking up all my time, I did not run much at all these past couple weeks. The good news is that my 2-mile time is back down to 15 minutes. My goal will be to have my 1-mile time down to 7:00 (I can hit 6:00 on occasion, but not regularly), 1.5-mile time down to 10:30, and 2-mile time to 14:00.

Six more Saturdays until Florida Gator football!

This week’s entries:

6 thoughts on “Week 12 of 213: If you love life, don’t waste time, for time is what life is made up of.

  1. Pingback: Week 13 of 213: It is always wise to look ahead, but difficult to look further than you can see. | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

  2. Pingback: Week 14 of 213: I think it better to do right, even if we suffer in so doing, than to incur the reproach of our consciences and posterity. | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

  3. Pingback: Week 15 of 213: What you have become, is the price you paid to get what you used to want | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

  4. Pingback: Week 16 of 213: Even if you fall on your face, you are still moving forward | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

  5. Pingback: Week 17 of 213: Grandmas hold our tiny hands for just a little while, but our hearts forever. | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

  6. Pingback: Week 18 of 213: Supreme excellence consists in breaking the enemy’s resistance without fighting. | iWalt 2.0, Cubicle Engineer…

Leave a Reply

