60 Days to Gator Football: “The Great Wall of Florida”

I have been counting down the 100 greatest Florida Gator football players and coaches. #60 is “The Great Wall of Florida”.

“The Great Wall of Florida” consisted of #75 Lomas Brown (Gator Great, All American, All SEC, Jacobs Trophy), #93 Jeff Zimmerman (All American, All SEC), #77 Crawford Ker (JUCO All American, 2nd team All SEC), #50 Phil Bromley (All SEC), #60 Billy Hinson, and #70 Scott Trimble, a fearsome mass of offensive linemen that paved the way for John L. Williams and Neal Anderson to lead the mighty Gators to what was their first SEC championship (later stripped by the University). Many consider the 1984 squad as one of the three best ever fielded by the Gators, alongside the 1996 and 2008 teams.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s