Movie review: Real Steel

Real Steel = Rocky + Over the Top, but with better actors. The better actors, of course, are the robots. The cliches are tolerable, from the David vs Goliath to the broken father- son relationships, only because…well…I don’t know. It just works. Hugh Jackman is by no means a great actor, but his brooding, bad dad character is easy to tolerate once you close your eyes and pretend this is what Wolverine would be like as a dad if he lost his super powers. I don’t know if it was the wine, or that little soft spot I have for father- son- robot movies, but I enjoyed the film. I give it 2/ 5 stars without wine, 3/ 5 stars with the wine.

Sent from my Motorola ATRIX™ 4G on AT&T

Leave a Reply

