Book Review: Lamb, the Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal

“The Lamb” is a hilarious, cynical, absurd, and absolutely blasphemous look at the life of Christ from the point of view of Christ’s best childhood chum, Biff. My friend, Sean, recommended the book to me, and for that I am eternally grateful. In my personal search for Jesus, Christianity, and religion in general, I have been disturbed by the lack of historical coverage of the most influential man in history. Christopher Moore fills that vacuum in history with the absurd tale of Joshua (Jesus’ real name) as Biff has been resurrected by an angel to tell us…the rest of the story. The reader will have to know a little bit about the Bible, and will probably need at least two brain cells in order to understand some of the references. It also helps to know a little about Judaism and Buddhism, but the reader can get by without a priori knowledge of those topics.

This is easily the funniest book I have ever read. If I am doomed to burn in hell for laughing at this story, then I hope one of my faithful blog readers will join me.

Leave a Reply

