How to survive being an exec

I truly do not understand the position of executive officer in the United States Air Force. We are not empowered to do real work. We are not trained to do the job. We piss off our management by performing exec duties, because management loses our production as engineers, program managers, or other jobs–and they take it out of hide with no compensation.

My only advice for my loyal fans reading this page (hi Mom!) is to have a sense of humor. I found that my commander likes laughing with me, at me, or for me. I let him feel like he is in charge by giving him something to laugh at. I think the only reason he keeps me around is as his court jester of sorts. Well, I survived another day as exec. I hope I can return to my normal duties as cubicle engineer soon.

Leave a Reply

